Writing, the Glamour and Telling Lies

facetink

I thought I would give you a little insight into the glamorous life of a writer. Because it is all glamour as you know … But mostly it is because I have a new novel out soon and I need to sell it. Someone has to do this, sadly it has to be me.

Of course, I don’t really consider myself a writer. I think of myself more of a mad woman who tells lies about other people. I didn’t even realise I was getting rich making up these lies. Of course, there may be some lies in this blog posting. I imagine the getting rich is perhaps a little untruthful. I’m disgustingly rich, in fact. Well, I’m a writer and apparently we’re all rich aren’t we? If you’re a writer and you’re not rich then you must be doing something wrong.

Right, that’s got the money thing out of the way. But seriously I have yet to meet a rich author. It may be that there are many but I’ve never met them. That brings me to the price of books. Strange that, wouldn’t you say?

I see books on Amazon for 99p. I see books on special offer. I envy writers who can afford to do that. I write for a living and have so far avoided going down the road of 99p books. That is until this week. I have a book on Amazon for 99p. ‘Croissants and Jam’ is available at this price for a limited time only and is a summer offer to celebrate my new novel ‘Rory’s Proposal’ which is out on Kindle on 16th August. The paperback is being released on Sept 18th.

facetink 2

Many writers who have publishers do not have the luxury of releasing their novels on Kindle for such a low price. I feel concern for many of these writers. I’ve spoken to a few recently who have told me that they are considering giving up writing as they just can’t sell books. Their publishers won’t lower the price to match those of many self-published authors and they feel it is a waste of their time. Many cannot write full time because writing isn’t making them any money. I have tried very hard not to fall into the trap of lowering prices. But I can see why it happens. It is a way to attract new readers. It sells more books, for a time at least. I won’t have books on Amazon for 99p. If it happens it will be a one off and normally it is a summer special or to celebrate a new book being released and talking of which …

Back quickly then to the glamour, and it’s all glamour here, down to my Primark silk wrap. Well, it looks like silk that’s good enough for me.

On the question of money, can I just say I have a cat to feed. So, if you don’t care about me, spare a thought for Bendy. I can survive on fig rolls, but him …

So, this plea is to ask you to consider perusing and even buying my new offering, titled ‘Rory’s Proposal’ and I’ll be whetting your appetite soon with a short extract here on my blog.  But before that if you haven’t read my books and shame on you if that is the case, you can download my all-time popular novel and bestseller ‘Croissants and Jam’ for 99p on Kindle.

Meanwhile, if you enjoy the books, do sign up for my Newsletter and join me on Facebook and Twitter. All links are below. I love writing romantic comedies and I also love hearing from my readers so please make contact.

Meanwhile enjoy the books. You can join me on Facebook here and Twitter here. Croissants and Jam is available here and Rory’s Proposal here.

Love Lynda  X

One thought on “Writing, the Glamour and Telling Lies

  1. “they are considering giving up writing as they just can’t sell books.”

    >> I hope that not all writers would “give up” because they can’t sell books. I strongly believe that God will provide all that you need. 🙂 You guys are lucky because you’re doing what you love! I wish I could READ.. full time. Haha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

