Naomi: My Inspirational Stepdaugter

naomihan

 

My aim for this blog is to have fun. To recount the fun experiences of my own life and mostly that is humorous, delightful and fun, even in the face of adversity we try to laugh. It isn’t always easy. Life can also be difficult and challenging, as I am sure you will agree. So, today, I am sharing a posting by my inspirational step daughter, Naomi. Today, she and her daughter Hana, appeared on Sunrise channel 7 in Australia, talking about Hana’s medical condition, which many of you who read my blog or visit my Facebook page will be familiar with.

 

 

naomihan2

 

Video link https://au.tv.yahoo.com/sunrise/video/watch/26688780/hana-cant-stop-eating/

Hana was diagnosed with a brain tumour just over a year ago. We all hoped that the removal of the tumour would be the end of the problem but sadly the problems really only then began.

In Naomi’s own words ‘

‘When damaged from a tumour, surgery or an accident, the Hypothalamus can go totally crazy and for some really, REALLY cruel reason seems to do all it can to make that person morbidly obese. 75% of children become morbidly obese within the first six months after their craniopharyngioma tumour is removed. 

Firstly, the appetite control centre messes up. People, kids, like my daughter, stop receiving messages of ‘fullness’ after eating. In addition, hormonal signals  such as ‘leptin’  from fat tissue stores also get ignored, these signals would usually inform the brain that the body doesn’t need to eat.  The result is a brain that thinks the body is physically starving. Now, we all know how hard it is to concentrate on anything when we’re really hungry. A brain that thinks the body is starving will only be able to think about things other than food for short periods of time. My daughter asks for food every few minutes of the day and, when one meal is over, will immediately start planning for and asking for the next meal.

Hana is getting bigger with each day. I saw Hana eighteen months ago four months before her tumour was removed. It breaks my heart to see what is happening to her. I’m uplifted whenever I hear her mother speak. I’m in awe of Naomi’s tenacity in the face of what must, some days, feel like such hopelessness. She never gives up.

The way I feel we can help is by sharing her blog posts and her Facebook updates. It may just reach someone who can make a difference.

I’ve posted the link to the video, please watch it if you have a spare moment. You can read more about Naomi at her blog Nurse Naomi here. I am re-blogging the most recent posting. I hope you will take the time to read it.

Meanwhile a fun posting coming very soon. xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

