The Day I Met Lady Gaga … Well As Close As.

whore

So, it was a very exciting day for me Saturday.

First I went to visit my mum. I always look forward to these visits while dreading them at the same time. Seeing your mum with her mind gone is the hardest thing on earth. Each visit I see a decline in her which is always depressing. But the fact that she smiles and sings for a lot of the time I am there, makes all the difference. She will be 90 in two months and I really was amazed at how chatty she was. We held hands, laughed, chatted and I kissed her many times and she seemed to like that. I talked about my books. I tried to tell her how many I had written. She always hoped I would be a published writer. She rambled for a bit longer and then amidst her ramblings was the word ‘pages’ making me wonder how much she really absorbs.

IMG_20160430_152415 (2)

And suddenly out of the blue she began to talk to somebody and look at them as though they were standing next to me. I looked to the side of me but there was no one there and suddenly she said ‘I love you Billy, I do.’

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My dad was known as Bill or Billy (when he was younger). I left feeling very emotional. I always used to chat to my mum and I so miss that. But we kind of chat and I guess I will have to be grateful for that.

Copy of Mum lyn beachfront

So we left mum and we were now heading for Putney to meet Katie, the owner of Outlandish Creations.  Katie is a ceramic designer and I had decided that the  main character in the new novel will be a ceramic designer too. So after a few exchanged emails Katie and I agreed to meet.

Now, Katie isn’t just a ceramic designer. She is the most abfab designer I know. Not only do I think so, but so does, Graham Norton, Lady Gaga and Ruby Wax, to mention just a few and here am I about to meet her. Only recently her work was featured in Vogue, so I was slightly nervous. It’s not every day you meet the woman who designed a cup that Lady Gaga drinks her tea from.

Katie was very welcoming, very pleasant and very helpful.  Watching her at work was very inspirational and all kinds of wonderful ideas for my character flowed through my mind. She took me to her workshop and showed me how she made her brilliant pieces. I’d already purchased one piece from her some time ago and still use it regularly and love it.

IMGP3697

So how could I not leave without another?  Here it is. Fab right?

IMGP3694

So when you read the next Little Perran novel, remember this blog. And do check out Katie’s work. It is truly Outlandish, funny, decadent and unique. I’m thrilled to own two pieces by her.

Keep tuned for the next novel but meanwhile don’t miss the special offer on ‘Perfect Weddings’ at the moment. Only 99p. Go here. Don’t miss it.

9780993402623_PerfectWeddings

To check out Outlandish Creations go here. You can also join her on Facebook here and read about her in Vogue here

Much love until next time

Lynda

x

2 thoughts on “The Day I Met Lady Gaga … Well As Close As.

Leave a Reply

