Why mad drivers don’t intimidate me

 

Today I was harassed by a driver on the country road leading out of my village. He drove very close to me and was clearly trying to get me to go faster. I know I drive slowly when I leave the village and I’m aware that I brake on the bends. But what the driver behind didn’t know, was that in 2012 it was on just such a country road that I drove that little bit too fast because I was late for work. It ended with me not turning up at work at all and almost being too early into that next world.

It had been a wet morning and although the sun was now shining the roads weren’t dry. I can’t remember why I was late. But it was a long journey from my village to the surgery where I worked. It was all country lanes, sharp bends and nothing but green fields as my view for the entire journey. I remember approaching a bend and even before I reached it I knew I was going too fast. I had to brake. I’ve since learnt that is the worst thing to do on a wet road and on a bend. I immediately lost control of the car. I remember screaming and the world spinning around. Of course, it was the car spinning and not the world at all. But all I knew was that I wanted to get off. There were many bangs and strange feelings vibrated through me as the car things. I later learnt those things were a bollard, several trees, bushes, and more bushes. It had spun around in the middle of the road. Luckily there were no oncoming cars otherwise I would have hit them head on. It eventually crashed through more bushes, crushing barley in its wake and landed with a thud in the mud in the middle of a farmer’s field. I sat for several seconds dazed and looking around for my glasses which had flown off my head. My seat belt dug into me and I was disorientated. I could hear the traffic but couldn’t see it. I then realised it was the other side of the bushes. I stupidly attempted to start my car and then realised with some horror that bits of it were strewn around the field. There was the odd tyre, a piece of bumper, bits of metal. I calmly fumbled in my bag for my phone to see I had no signal. I thank God every day for the fact that my car landed in mud because had it overturned I could have laid there for hours. There would have been no way to reach anyone. I managed to unbuckle my seatbelt and shakily climb from the battered car and make my way to the road where my phone picked up signal and I called the police who then called an ambulance even though I said I was fine and that it was just the car that was damaged. In fact I wasn’t fine at all. I had bruised ribs which I didn’t even feel. I was in shock too but didn’t know it.

car

My car was a write off. The police said they think I had a blow out as I took the bend. I believe I was driving too fast and my carelessness caused the accident. The car had to be craned out of the field. They also told me if it hadn’t have been raining and the field muddy then I most likely would have suffered serious injuries as the car would have turned over. As it was it got lodged in the mud.

I now always drive carefully and I never exceed the speed limit. If I’m late, then I’m late. I’m a terrible back street driver and always have my foot on an imaginary brake. I wince as bends approach when I’m in the passenger seat. A serious accident makes you aware. So drivers can drive close to me. They can get in my boot if they like but I won’t drive any faster. I had a lucky escape. I don’t think I’d be lucky a second time so why risk it?

Leave a Reply

